Hoping for Another CQ CX Record… NOT!

Version 2


It is now time for a new visit to family and friends in CX-Land.

As in former visits, I hope on occasions to be QRV QRP/P as CX7RT from Piriápolis (CG25id) with the KX3 and small antennas. This time I will not be making use of any digital mode beyond those that the KX3 has available via its paddle. Most likely I will mainly operate CW hoping for some propagation openings in the higher bands (17m and 15m).

During the last five years, in as many visits to CX-Land, I logged a total of 308 QSOs in 47 DXCC’s. Of these, 183 QSOs in 30 different DXCC’s have QSL’ed in LoTW.

Due to the lack of CX QRP contesters I was also able to retain two CQ CX SOQRP records: in the CQ WW WPX SSB (CX SOQRP 15m) and in the CQ WW RTTY (CX SOQRP 15m). This was not done just for personal satisfaction, but also in the hope of enticing other CX amateurs to operate QRP.

The 2017 CQ WW CW is scheduled to take place Nov 25-26. If I find myself available on those dates, I may try my luck in it, hoping this time to be joined (and likely beaten) by more able CX amateurs with better QRP stations than myself.

I should be back in VE3-land on time for the snow and RAC Winter Day…

